Visual Imagination Limited
Film Review 2006
All items are priced in UK POUNDS (£). Except for our subscriptions, prices shown do not include shipping costs. These will be calculated for you at the checkout.
Note - Customers in the USA: please use our US DOLLAR ($) store here: VI Direct US Catalog
Go Up
Go Up
Contents
Contents
Information
Information
Search
Search
E-Mail Us
E-Mail Us

VI Direct Catalogue : Film Review : Film Review 2006

Film Review #677, December 2006 Film Review #677, December 2006
(Reference #F200)

132 pages

Casino Royale
We celebrate the 21st Bond film with a bumper pack of features….
Set Visit! Join us as we watch some of those awe-inspiring stunts being made!
Daniel Craig The brand new 007 tells us why he’ll knock the socks off his critics with his portrayal of a darker, sexier Bond
Judi Dench The actress tells us why she’s most definitely calling the shots as Bond’s boss M
Madds Mikkelsen Explains just why his villain, Le Chiffre, is going to be Bond’s biggest challenge yet
Eva Green On what it feels like to break Bond’s heard as the original and best Bond girl Vesper Lynd
Caterina Murino The sexy newcomer, who plays the beautiful Solange, talks love, lust and revenge
Martin Campbell The director reveals just what it takes to make an all-new Bond movie… and save the franchise
Complete 007 Countdown We countdown all the Bonds that have come before, from worst to best.
Plus we talk to the cast and crew of the fantastic Goldfinger!

Kate Winslet The British actress tells us about her new drama Little Children
Hollywoodland Ben Affleck, Diane Lane and Adrien Brody on why the death of original TV Superman George Reeves makes for a fascinating film
Guillermo Del Toro The Mexican director takes us behind the scenes of his dark fantasy Pan’s Labyrinth
Juliette Binoche We talk to the French star about her new drama Breaking & Entering
James McAvoy The young Brit actor continues to go from strength to strength in Hollywood, but it’s England all the way in Starter for Ten
Cillian Murphy The star of new DVD The Wind That Shakes the Barley explains why working with director Ken Loach was a learning experience
Mission: Impossible III As the third in the action franchise comes to DVD, we tell you everything you need to know about the explosive film series

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 32 brand new releases, including The Departed, Stranger Than Fiction and The Prestige
13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 12 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture A first look at Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Leonardo DiCaprio’s latest Blood Diamond and a brand new pic from Nic Cage’s Ghost Rider!
The Film That Changed My Life Eighties bratpacker Anthony Michael Hall (The Breakfast Club) tells us why Raging Bull is such a knockout!
Your Film Review We visit Sydney to find out what our Aussie readers thought of Little Miss Sunshine

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #676, November 2006 Film Review #676, November 2006
(Reference #F199)

132 pages

Hugh Jackman We talk to the Aussie heartthrob about his amazing career
Stan Lee The creator of X-Men talks comic book movies and his fantastic cameo in next year’s Spiderman 3
The Prestige Christian Bale, Scarlett Johansson and Michael Caine discuss acting alongside Hugh Jackman in the movie
The Departed Legendary director Martin Scorsese and stars Leonardo Di Caprio and Matt Damon discuss their new crime thriller
Helen Mirren The actress gives her reaction to the right royal reception her role in The Queen has received
Russell Crowe Hollywood’s best-known hellraiser tells us why he’s taking it easy in Ridley Scott’s new movie A Good Year
Heath Ledger The star reveals how he approached playing a heroin addict in his new film Candy
Zach Braff We talk to the actor about his new romantic drama The Last Kiss
Dominic Cooper The upcoming British actor tells us about his role in History Boys
The Film That Changed My Life Rapper turned actor Ice T tells us how blaxploitation classic Superfly saved him from a life of crime
Cory Edwards The director of new animation Hoodwinked tells us how he gave Little Red Riding Hood a millennial makeover
William Friedkin The director of The French Connection recalls the classic film’s troubled production
Jean Reno The enigmatic actor talks about playing detective Bezu Fache in The Da Vinci Code
Halle Berry The stunning actress tells us about the evolution of her character Storm in X-Men: The Last Stand

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 32 brand new releases, including Children of Men, Borat and The Black Dahlia
13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 12 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Edmond, Man of the Year and The Lost City
Your Film Review We visit London’s famous Leicester Square to find out what our UK readers thought of Right at Your Door

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #675, October 2006 Film Review #675, October 2006
(Reference #F198)

132 pages

Superhero Preview
We preview the hottest superhero movies winging their way towards cinema screens. From new Batman film The Dark Knight, to the first big screen appearance of Iron-Man
Including…

Ghost Rider Nicolas Cage fills us in on his role as demonic biker Johnny Blaze
Spiderman 3 The delectable Bryce Dallas Howard tells us about her role as Gwen Stacey

With..
Will Ferrell The funnyman talks about his racing comedy Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby
Adam Sandler The hilarious star tells us what it was like to have the world at his fingertips in his new film Click
Oliver Stone The director best known for conspiracy theories and controversy reveals why he’s taken a much less contentious approach to his 9/11 film World Trade Center
The Film That Changed My Life Veteran stunt man Vic Armstrong explains how Stanley Donen’s thriller Arabesque set him on the path to fame and fortune
Meryl Streep The Oscar-winning actress tells us why she got a kick out of playing the boss from hell in The Devil Wears Prada
The Numbers Game We speed from 0 to 60 with Hollywood’s greatest numerical movies
The Thirty-Nine Steps We take a trip down memory lane with the cast and crew of Don Sharp’s 1978 espionage thriller
Steven Soderbergh The versatile director talks about his part in erotic anthology movie Eros
Uma Thurman The stunning actress reveals all about divorce, middle-aged dating and her new romantic comedy DVD Prime
Warwick Davis The world’s biggest short actor tells us how Return of the Jedi got him where he is today

Plus..
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 37 brand new releases, including Clerks II, Crank and World Trade Center
15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 14 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Bobby, The Illusionist and We Are Marshall
Your Film Review We visit LA’s Mann’s Grauman’s Chinese Theatre to find out what our US readers thought of Snakes on a Plane

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #674, September 2006 Film Review #674, September 2006
(Reference #F197)

132 pages

Children of Men On Set Report!
Clive Owen We had lunch with the star and he let us in on his director’s (Alfonso Cuarón’) groundbreaking approach to the film
• We talk to stars Claire-Hope Ashitey (Shooting Dogs) and Chiwetel Ejiofor (Inside Man)
Future Shock! As Children of Men heads for cinemas, we list 10 classic films that have offered up similarly nightmarish views of the Future

M Night Shyamalan The director reveals how The Lady in the Water’s torturous production process led to him having a dramatic fall out with Disney…
Snakes on a Plane We look at how Samuel L Jackson’s new action film became a Hollywood sensation before it had even finished shooting
Christian Bale We talk to the Batman Begins star about playing a war veteran turned gangster in his tough new crime film Harsh Times
Richard Linklater The School of Rock director reveals all about his psychedelic Sci-Fi animation A Scanner Darkly
Danny Dyer The True Brit actor tells us about his new Horror film Severance
The Film That Changed My Life JJ Abrams, the director of Mission Impossible III, tells us why Planet of the Apes is pure monkey magic!
Kirby Dick The documentary film-maker tells us why he’s taking on the American movie ratings board with This Film is Not Yet Rated
Pedro Almodóvar The acclaimed Spanish director discusses his new comedy Volver
Truly Horrifying We investigate the Horror films that claim to be based on true stories, from The Exorcist to An American Haunting

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and 30 brand new releases, including Hostel, Inside Man and Tsotsi
15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 14 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Scoop, Whisper and Control
Your Film Review We visit Sydney’s Cinema Paris to find out what our Aussie readers thought of Hard Candy

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #673, August 2006 Film Review #673, August 2006
(Reference #F196)

132 pages

Autumn / Winter Preview We look ahead to the movies that will be keeping you warm in the cooler months to come – from Sacha Baron Cohen’s raucous comedy Borat to Mel Gibson’s ambitious historical drama Apocalypto.
With…
Children of Men On Set! We pay a visit to this dystopian thriller from Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban director Alfonso Cuarón
Leonardo DiCaprio is starring in Martin Scorsese’s thriller The Departed this Autumn and we profile his remarkable career
Dreamgirls On Set! We talk to stars Beyoncé Knowles and Jamie Foxx and hear all the gossip from this Oscar-tipped Motown musical

Stormbreaker We talk to cast and crew of this exhilarating adaptation of Anthony Horowitz’s best-selling teen-espionage novel
Jamie Foxx The Oscar-winning actor reveals all about playing super-stylish cop Ricardo Tubbs in the new adaptation of ’80s TV classic Miami Vice
Lindsay Lohan Hollywood’s hottest young actress on her new romantic comedy Just My Luck
John Lasseter The Pixar animation supremo takes a pit stop to discusshis new movie Cars
Johnny Depp The star of Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest reveals the secrets behind Captain Jack Sparrow’s appeal
Gretchen Moll The stunning star of new biopic The Notorious Bettie Page talks about playing America’s first sex icon
The Film That Changed My Life Ciarán Hinds, tells us why Midnight Cowboy had a huge impact on him
Windows on the World We take a look at the remarkable documentary features that have shed light on our world, from Bowling for Columbine to Born into Brothels.
Gil Kenan The young director, making his movie début with Monster House, takes us on a tour of this animated fantasy
Hugo Weaving The Australian actor remembers the 5th of November in the DVD V for Vendetta
Nic Cage The star talks about riding out the storm in his new comedy DVD The Weather Man

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, and coming up to 30 brand new releases, including Hostel, Inside Man and Tsotsi
15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 14 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Lucky You, All the King’s Men and The Reaping
Your Film Review We visit London’s Leicester Square Odeon to find out what our readers thought of Poseidon

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #672, July 2006 Film Review #672, July 2006
(Reference #F195)

Superman Spectacular – extra 32 pages
To celebrate the Man of Steel’s homecoming in Superman Returns, Film Review has taken on superhuman proportions this month with extra pages…
All-Access Set Visit We report straight from the Australian set of Superman Returns and talk to director Bryan Singer, stars Kevin Spacey and Kate Bosworth and, of course, the new Superman, Brandon Routh
Superman Revisited Delving into the Film Review archives, we turn back time and look at the impact of the original Superman films through interviews with the casts and crews

With..
Superman Returns... Screenwriters Dan Harris and Michael Dougherty reveal how they went about creating a brand new escapade for the Man of Steel
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest 9 pages of fantastic new photos from the film, featuring Orlando Bloom, Keira Knightley and the one and only Johnny Depp
Casino Royale We take a look at the return of 007 in this autumn’s most exciting thrill ride
Taxi Driver The director tells us about his reworking of classic 70s horror The Omen
Cannes 2006 We bring you all the latest news from the croisette, including the French furore surrounding Sophia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette and the first reactions to director Richard (Donnie Darko) Kelly’s new film Southland Tales
Milla Jovovich The utterly gorgeous Ukrainian actress reveals all about playing a vampiric warrior-woman in her new film Ultraviolet
Charlotte Rampling Travelling to Haiti to find love in her new film Heading South, the legendary actress discusses her remarkable career and why she has no intention of retiring soon
Kurt Russell Mr Goldie Hawn tells us how he managed to get his sea legs in the new nautical disaster movie Poseidon
Ken Loach The politically-minded director shares his thoughts on his new film The Wind that Shakes the Barley
Bennett Miller The director of the multi-award-winning Capote reveals how he went about bringing the famously flamboyant writer Truman Capote to the big screen
Marc Forster The director of Finding Neverland tells us why his commercially unsuccessful psychological thriller Stay deserves to get an afterlife on DVD

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 20 brand new releases, including Mission Impossible III, Thank You for Smoking and Hard Candy
14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 15 pages of news…
The Film That Changed My Life Actress Amy Adams, Oscar nominated this year for her role in Junebug, tells us why she’s hopelessly devoted to Grease
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Zodiac, The Fountain and Southland Tales
Your Film Review We're off to LA to find out what our readers thought of X-Men: The Last Stand

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #671, Summer 2006 Film Review #671, Summer 2006
(Reference #F194)

132 pages

9/11 and Hollywood – is it too soon? We ask if it’s too soon for Hollywood studios to be making movies about 9/11.
Ed Norton The talented star is back with Down in the Valley and tells us why he chose to make his comeback in this taut drama
Superman Returns Screenwriters Dan Harris and Michael Dougherty reveal how they went about creating a brand new escapade for the Man of Steel
X-Men: The Last Stand Stars Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry tell us why their latest adventure is the best yet
Marilyn Monroe In the year that she would have been 80 we delve into the life and tragic death of one of Hollywood’s greatest icons
John Moore The director tells us about his reworking of classic 70s horror The Omen
Robert Redford The Sundance Kid himself talks about his latest movie, family drama An Unfinished Life
Catherine Keener The acclaimed star tells us about having Friends with Money, her new film with Jennifer Aniston
Gael Garcia Bernal The Mexican born actor discusses his steady rise to fame and his role as a wayward son named Elvis in The King
Richard E Grant The acerbic actor talks about his directorial début Wah-Wah
The Wild Production designer Chris Farmer reveals the secrets behind Disney’s latest blockbusting animation
Reese Witherspoon On winning an Oscar playing Johnny Cash’s wife in Walk the Line
Jake Gyllenhaal The star reveals how he went about playing a Gulf War grunt in Jarhead
Lou Adler As high-camp classic The Rocky Horror Picture Show comes to DVD in a new special edition, the film’s executive producer helps us do the Time Warp again

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with nearly 30 brand new releases, including Mission Impossible III, Thank You for Smoking and Hard Candy
14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 13 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases My Super Ex-Girlfriend, Alpha Dog and You, Me and Dupree
Your Film Review We pop to the land of Oz to find out what our readers thought of The Squid and the Whale

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #670, June 2006 Film Review #670, June 2006
(Reference #F193)

132 pages
The Da Vinci Code Stars Paul Bettany and Sir Ian McKellen help us crack the code
Mission Impossible 3 We talk to Tom Cruise, JJ Abrams, creator of TV’s Lost, and co-star Michelle Monaghan
Best of Bond An in-depth look at the six actors who have portrayed 007
Julianne Moore The star discusses the importance of her new racism themed drama Freedomland
James Gunn With his movie Slither about to be released, the up and coming director discusses his influences
Bruce Willis and Richard Donner The actor puts the record straight and along with his director tells us why travelling 16 Blocks in his new movie is a risky business
Martin Freeman The British actor talks about his new improvised movie Confetti
Wim Wenders The offbeat director of Paris, Texas takes us through his new film Don’t Come Knocking
Sarah Jessica Parker We chat to the star about playing against type as the uptight Meredith Morton in her new DVD The Family Stone
Jason Isaacs The world’s best bad guy talks about his role as Colonel Tavington in The Patriot

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 30 brand new releases, including Basic Instinct 2, Prime and Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room
14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 13 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases The Black Dahlia, United 93 and Superman Returns
Your Film Review We give the good people in our LA office the chance to tell us which movies they’ve been enjoying recently

Extra Bonus…
Hollywood Bytes A fantastic 32-page supplement celebrating the constantly evolving relationship between movies and computers

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #669, May 2006 Film Review #669, May 2006
(Reference #F192)

132 pages

New Hollywood We list the next generation of Hollywood royalty
Oscars 2006 Our report on this year’s star-studded ceremony and the remarkable result that left audiences gobsmacked
Harrison Ford & Paul Bettany The two very different actors tell us what it was like to play mortal enemies in their new action packed thriller Firewall
Eli Roth and Quentin Tarantino (Directors Chair) Director Roth is back with Hostel. Executive producer Quentin Tarantino joins the director to dissect their grisly new masterpiece…
Ant and Dec The cheeky Geordie duo tell us about their big screen début in wacky comedy Alien Autopsy
Robert Downey Jr The star talks about his new drug free life, his devotion to martial arts and his hilarious role in the kids’ movie Shaggy Dog
Three Burials Screenwriter Guillermo Arriaga, tells us how he came to pen Tommy Lee Jones’s electrifying directorial début
Out of the Box The TV stars who have transcended their humble beginnings to become big screen legends
Hugh Dancy The rising British star reveals all about his remarkable role in the moving Rwanda set drama Shooting Dogs
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Director Mike Newell, producer David Heyman and Harry Potter himself, Mr Daniel Radcliffe, talk about bringing the darkest film in the series to the screen
Julian Fellowes The Oscar winning screenwriter of Gosford Park, tells about his directorial début Separate Lies released this month on DVD.

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with 34 brand new releases, including Junebug, Pierrepoint and Inside Man
14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 13 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Bandidas, Eragon and Tenacious D in: The Pick of Destiny
Your Film Review We travel to London’s Leicester Square to find out what our readers thought of Steven Spielberg’s Munich

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #668, April 2006 Film Review #668, April 2006
(Reference #F191)

132 pages

X-Men 3: The Last Stand We bring you all the latest news and gossip from the film’s tempestuous production.
Oscars 2006 Our predictions for the 78th Academy Awards Ceremony in March. But will you agree?
Natalie Portman The gorgeous actress tells us about her role in the Wachowski Brothers new Sci-Fi spectacular V for Vendetta
Felicity Huffman After winning a Golden Globe for her performance as a transsexual man in Transamerica, the star looks set to pick up the best actress Oscar. She talks about the challenges of playing the role
The Proposition The director and stars of this Australian Western, including Guy Pearce and Danny Huston, tell us about the treacherous shooting conditions. We also talk to musician turned screenwriter Nick Cave about his inspiration
Tsotsi Director Gavin Hood tells us why his Oscar-nominated film about life in the Johannesburg criminal underworld reveals the real South Africa
London Film Critics Circle Awards Film Review enjoys a glass or two of sherry with Sir Dickie Attenborough at the year’s most entertaining awards ceremony
Susan Sarandon and John Turturro The Oscar-winning actress and acclaimed actor/director tell us about bringing some song and dance glamour to the streets of New York in Romance and Cigarettes
Stephanie Leonidas We talk to the young actress about shooting the new Fantasy film MirrorMask
Jon Favreau (Directors Chair) The innovative director of Dogville and The Idiots discusses crafting his latest movie, slave drama Manderlay
Nathan Fillion The actor reveals all about playing rough and ready space cowboy Mal Reynolds in Sci-Fi spectacular Serenity, new to DVD
Buster Keaton We take a look at the remarkable career of one of silent cinema’s greatest stars and review a new DVD collection of his greatest work

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with nearly 30 brand new releases, including Syriana, The Pink Panther and The Hills Have Eyes
14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs and 13 pages of news…
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Miami Vice, The Da Vinci Code and The Break Up
Your Film Review What our Antipodean readers thought of George Clooney’s Good Night, and Good Luck
The Film That Changed My Life Christopher Lee tells us why watching director James Whale’s classic chiller Frankenstein is a childhood memory he holds dear to his heart

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #667, March 2006 Film Review #667, March 2006
(Reference #F190)

132 pages

Features
George Clooney We talk to the actor/director about the two remarkable, politically-charged movies that he is about to bring to the big screen
Good Night, and Good Luck Director George Clooney and stars David Strathairn and Patricia Clarkson discuss this drama of the end of the American Senator Joseph McCarthy's communist hunt…
Syriana Joined by co-star Matt Damon, George Clooney fills us in on this searing depiction of mass corruption in the oil industry
Joaquin Phoenix The actor opens up to Film Review about playing Country legend Johnny Cash in Walk the Line
Anthony Hopkins The thespian talks exclusively about his life in acting, from his early films The Bounty and Magic through to the Hannibal Lecter movies and his latest biopic, The World’s Fastest Indian
Heath Ledger The Aussie actor tells us about his career and his role as the titular character in Casanova
Best Biopics We list the 10 very best biographical movies
Pierce Brosnan The ex-Bond tells us about his latest movie The Matador and exactly what he thinks of new Bond Daniel Craig
John Cusack The actor chats to us about his latest comedy thriller The Ice Harvest
Charlize Theron The actress on her two new and very different movies, North Country and Æon Flux
Mathew MacFadyen The British actor tells us about playing Mr Darcy in Pride and Prejudice
Drew Barrymore The ex-wild child chats to us about her latest DVD The Perfect Catch and her new role as a Hollywood producer
Jon Favreau (Directors Chair) The actor/writer turned director tells us about the many challenges of helming his latest movie, children’s Fantasy film Zathura

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 25 brand new releases, including Walk the Line, Good Night, and Good Luck and The Matador
14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Snakes on a Plane, Omen 666 and Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man’s Chest
Your Film Review We find out what our LA readers thought of Peter Jackson’s King Kong
The Film That Changed My Life Joel Silver, the legendary producer behind action films like Die Hard and The Matrix, tells us why John Boorman’s Point Blank hits the bullseye

and 16 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #666, February 2006 Film Review #666, February 2006
(Reference #F189)

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it’s 132 pages of Movie Heaven!

Features
2006 Preview We look-ahead to the films that are going to wow audiences in 2006
Superman Returns We talk to director Bryan Singer about bringing the Man of Steel back from exile in 2006’s most anticipated movie
Jake Gyllenhaal The Donnie Darko actor has had enough. Jake tells us how Brokeback Mountain has been misunderstood and talks about his other new films
Issue #666 Scary Celebration Two fearsome features for our ‘Number of the Beast’ issue
What’s Your Favourite Scary Movie? Hollywood’s finest, from Ryan Phillippe to Peter Jackson, tell us about the movies that send shivers up their spines
The Devil Made Me Do It We list cinema’s most memorable movie devils
Matthew Broderick and Nathan Lane The stars of The Producers chat about turning their hit musical back into a hit movie
Woody Allen Everybody’s favourite anxious auteur tells us why he left his beloved New York to film his latest movie, Match Point, in London
Steve Coogan The multi-talented comedian reveals why appearing as himself in his new film Cock and Bull Story, was the biggest challenge of his career
Rob Marshall and Ken Watanabe The director and star of Memoirs of a Geisha talk about bringing such a highly successful novel to the big screen
Steve Martin and Claire Danes The co-stars of new romantic comedy Shopgirl talk about their roles
Neil Jordan The director talks in-depth about his latest film, transsexual drama Breakfast on Pluto
Jamie Foxx The Oscar-winning actor talks about Hollywood, success and his new action DVD Stealth
The Ipcress File As Michael Caine’s breakthrough picture gets a long-awaited release on DVD we take a look at its production

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 22 brand new releases, including King Kong, Munich and Fun With Dick and Jane
15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at upcoming releases Stay, Mirrormask and Zathura
Your Film Review This month we pop along to Leicester Square in London to find out what cinema-goers thought of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
The Film That Changed My Life The director of Seed of Chucky tells us why The Poseidon Adventure made him choose a life behind the camera
and 16 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #665, January 2006 Film Review #665, January 2006
(Reference #F188)

132 feature-packed pages!

Features
Kongtastic! – We talk to the people bringing the legend back to life.
Naomi Watts The actress stepping into the shoes of ‘scream-queen’ Fay Wray
Peter Jackson The Kiwi director on his first version, and how it was important in the new film to get the ape’s personality just right
Adrien Brody The actor tells us why he spent most of the shoot on a treadmill dodging imaginary dinosaurs!
Jack Black The irrepressible comic actor talks about his character and the true-life Hollywood figures that inspired his performance
Andy Serkis The versatile actor tells us how he got to play Lumpy the Cook as well as the ape himself

And..
Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Set Visit We travel to the New Zealand set with the author of the definitive behind the scenes book Cameras in Narnia
Ang Lee The acclaimed director talks about his controversial new drama Brokeback Mountain and the challenges of bringing this gay-themed movie to the screen
Daniel Bruhl and Diane Kruger The actors discuss their new film Merry Christmas, which tells the true story of a Christmas truce during World War I
The Producers We chart the new movie’s journey from cinema to stage and back again
Animal House We celebrate movie creature features by looking at Hollywood’s very best animal movies
Luc Jacquet The director of this year’s surprise international hit, March of the Penguins, talks about the remarkable success of his documentary
Fantastic Four With the DVD release on its way, we talk to stars Ioan Gruffudd, Jessica Alba, Michael Chiklis and Chris Evans about how they formed their dysfunctional comic book family

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 20 brand new releases, including Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Brokeback Mountain and Just Like Heaven
13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at three future releases, Fun with Dick and Jane, The World’s Fastest Indian and Derailed
Your Film Review We head to Sydney to check out what film fans are enjoying Down Under
The Film That Changed My Life Doom actor Karl Urban tells us about the film that made him realize what he wanted to do with his life
and 19 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99
VI Direct Catalogue : Film Review : Film Review 2006

Go Up
Go Up
Contents
Contents
Information
Information
Search
Search
E-Mail Us
E-Mail Us


Visual Imagination – publisher of film, tv and Science Fiction magazines