Visual Imagination Limited
Film Review 2004
All items are priced in UK POUNDS (£). Except for our subscriptions, prices shown do not include shipping costs. These will be calculated for you at the checkout.
Note - Customers in the USA: please use our US DOLLAR ($) store here: VI Direct US Catalog
Go Up
Go Up
Contents
Contents
Information
Information
Search
Search
E-Mail Us
E-Mail Us

VI Direct Catalogue : Film Review : Film Review 2004

Film Review #651, December 2004 Film Review #651, December 2004
(Reference #F174)

148 packed pages

Features
Alexander Angelina Jolie tells us what it was like to play the mother of a megalomaniac, while Colin Farrell explains why he was happy to take on the titular role
The Manchurian Candidate Denzel Washington, Meryl Streep and director Jonathan Demme tell how they brought fresh ideas to this remake and to what extent they referenced the ’60s original
The Incredibles Director Brad Bird discusses the aims and style of his new animated movie
I – Heart – Huckerbees Maverick director David O Russell explains the thinking behind his intriguing new ‘existential’ comedy and star Naomi Watts tells us why she wanted to get involved
The Forgotten Julianne Moore reveals her working methods and what attracted her to this thriller
Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason Are all lead characters as neurotic as Bridget Jones? We had a look at their diaries to find out
Jerry Bruckheimer The famed producer discusses the making of King Arthur as the DVD invades a shop near you
Sir Ben Kingsley The noble knight reveals the fun he had playing a ‘pantomime villain’ as the Thunderbirds DVD roars into town

Plus...
Sealed Section
• Jack Black lets a secret slip concerning Peter Jackson’s remake of King Kong
Team America creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone tell us what they hate about Michael Moore
• Rumours abound concerning the delayed release of Alexander
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!
The Bigger Picture Sample some double-page spreads of three upcoming films: Synergy, Seed of Chucky and The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
Vox Pops Our intrepid reporters find out what you think of the movies. This month we were at the Mann’s Chinese Theatre in Hollywood, getting feedback on Team America, Friday Night Lights and Shall We Dance?
The Film That Changed My Life The Shawshank Redemption director Frank Darabont reveals which film has inspired him the most

Reviews
Over 20 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
37 brand new releases, including Blade: Trinity, Shaolin Soccer and Take My Eyes
and over 12 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Shrek 2 and the comprehensive book Down and Dirty Pictures delves inside Miramax and Sundance

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #650, November 2004 Film Review #650, November 2004
(Reference #F173)

148 packed pages

Features
Blade Trinity Stars Wesley Snipes and Jessica Biel join writer/director David Goyer to tell us why Blade Trinity is the most explosive yet.
Shark Tale Voice stars Robert De Niro, Will Smith and Angelina Jolie take us beneath the surface of the latest ocean adventure from Dreamworks
Exorcist: The Beginning We visit the set of the troubled sequel and critic Mark Kermode delves into the dark history of the Exorcist III
Coffee and Cigarettes Jim Jarmusch chats about his film of vignettes that was 18 years in the making
Grudge Match With the remake of The Grudge hitting the screens we look at some recent and classic remakes to decide if they improved on the originals
Bad Santa Billy Bob Thornton tells us why he took on the role of a foul-mouthed, fornicating Santa
Sean Astin The LOTR star talks us through his autobiography, including the highs and lows of his career

Plus...
Sealed Section
• The hottest news in Hollywood…
• John Travolta sees the funny side of on-set pranks
• Russell Crowe gets rowdy again
• Colin Farrell nearly ruins Alexander
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!
Vox Pops What you think of the movies. This month we were at the Mann’s Chinese Theatre in Hollywood, getting feedback on Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow, Resident Evil: Apocalypse and Wimbledon
The Film That Changed My Life Wicker Park star Josh Hartnett tells us about the films that made the biggest impact on him

Reviews
26 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 28 brand new releases, including Resident Evil: Apocalypse, Alfie and Oldboy
and 18 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Troy and The Guerrilla Film Makers’ Hollywood Handbook

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #649, October 2004 Film Review #649, October 2004
(Reference #F172)

164 packed pages

Features
Alfie Jude Law on the challenges of stepping into Michael Caine’s shoes, his own rise to stardom and the freedom he now has to help projects like Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
Bubba Ho-Tep Horror veteran Bruce Campbell lets us pick his brains on his role of Elvis in this movie about an ancient evil in an old-people’s home
Collateral Tom Cruise talks about playing the bad guy in his latest film, and about working with James Foxx and director Michael Mann
Wimbledon Paul Bettany tells us why he has jumped genres again with his lead role in this romantic comedy
The Shawshank Redemption Director Frank Darabont revisits his breakout movie and talks freely about the thought that went into it
Switchblade Romance Alexandre Aja, director of the shocking new slice-and-dice movie, spills his thoughts on the need for good actors and realistic-looking blood
Box Office Gross We’ve collated some of the most startling moments in the history of film, from horror shocks to gangster gross-outs
Code 46 Director Michael Winterbottom on his polished dystopian love story
De-Lovely Kevin Kline and Ashley Judd wine and dine themselves silly in their roles of Mr and Mrs Cole Porter
The Bigger Picture Take a luxurious look at a scene from three films heading towards the big screen: Ocean’s Twelve, The Polar Express and Head in the Clouds

Plus Sealed Sections
• The hottest news in Hollywood…
• Why Tom Cruise is so down to earth despite his millions
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
24 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 40 brand new releases, including Cellular, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow and Saw
and 20 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Donnie Darko and L’Homme du Train

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #648, September 2004 Film Review #648, September 2004
(Reference #F171)

148 packed pages

Features
The Chronicles of Riddick Star Vin Diesel and co-star Alexa Davalos interviewed
Marlon Brando A look back at the life of the late, great cinematic icon
Super Size Me Has Morgan Spurlock bitten off more than he can chew?
Hellboy Mexican director Guillermo del Toro tells us how he brought comic hero Hellboy to the big screen.
The Village Writer/director M Night Shyamalan on his latest film
The Motorcycle Diaries Brazilian director Walter Salles tells us why he felt compelled to bring the story of revolutionary icon Che Guevara to the big screen
Envy Comedian Jack Black tells us why he’s happy to continue to play the leading man
AE Fond Kiss New British actor Atta Yaqub is determined to keep his feet on the ground
Asia Extreme 2004 As Hollywood begins to churn out numerous remakes of Eastern films such as Ring and Dark Water, here’s your chance to get to grips with some original Asian classics
The Bigger Picture Want to be the first to know about the biggest and best movies coming your way? Then feast your eyes on six of the biggest films coming to a cinema near you, including Vanity Fair, Shark Tale and Surviving Christmas

Plus Sealed Sections
• The hottest news in Hollywood…
• Why the American adore Matt Damon and why Will Smith loves getting naked!
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
25 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 25 brand new releases, including Catwoman, Festival Express and Anchorman – The Legend of Ron Burgundy
and 15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Rain Man, Shaun of the Dead and 50 First Dates

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #647, August 2004 Film Review #647, August 2004
(Reference #F170)

132 packed pages

Features
I, Robot We talk to stars Will Smith and Bridget Moynahan and director Alex Proyas about their new futuristic murder mystery.
King Arthur Keira Knightley reveals why she just had to be a part of the historical epic.
Catwoman Star Halle Berry and director Pitof told us what it takes to bring a comic legend to the big screen.
Thunderbirds Director Jonathan Frakes tells why he was the man to bring the classic television show to the big screen.
13 Going on 30 Actress Jennifer Garner on why she’s growing up quickly in her new Hollywood comedy.
Anything Else Director Woody Allen reveals why his latest comic offering will set him back on the path to box office success, and star Jason Biggs tells what it was like to work with a legend.
History of Animation We chart the fascinating history of the genre, from Mickey to The Incredibles.
The Bigger Picture Want to be the first to know about the biggest and best movies coming your way?Then feast your eyes on Christian Bale in superhero prequel Batman Beyond, Milla Jovovich in zombie actioner Resident Evil: Apocalypse and Ben Stiller in daft comedy Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story.

Plus Sealed Sections
• The hottest news in Hollywood…
• Find out why Ashley Judd likes to bath with dogs, why Johnny Depp’s marriage might be cursed and how Keira Knightley lost out on on-screen romance.
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 20 brand new releases, including Before Sunset, Farenheit 9/11 and Spider-Man 2
and 15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Kill Bill: Volume 2, The Bourne Identity and Monster

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #646, July 2004 Film Review #646, July 2004
(Reference #F169)

132 pages of the best in all the latest movies!

Features
King Arthur We talked to director Antoine Fuqua and stars Clive Owen and Keira Knightley who told us all about their right royal drama
The Ladykillers We collared Joel Coen and demanded that he tell us why, along with brother Ethan, he wanted to remake the classic Ealing comedy and whether he feels it lives up to the much-loved original.
Spider-Man 2 We invited director Sam Raimi and star Kirsten Dunst into our parlour to chat about the film that will surely be one of the biggest hits of the summer.
Around the World in 80 Days We managed to track down Chan, aka Passepartout, who gave us the inside scoop on this latest adaptation of Jules Verne’s classic adventure novel.
Shrek 2 Voice stars Mike Myers and Antonio Banderas join director Andrew Adamson for an animated discussion about the film!
Your Film Review We know what we think about all the latest movies, but what are your opinions? We nipped down to our local cinema to find out!
Call Sheet: A Bridge Too Far We cast a fond look back at the making of Richard Attenborough’s World War II classic
The Bigger Picture Want to know what are the biggest and best movies coming your way? Then let us tell you all about Jude Law in re-make What’s It All About Alfie, Geoffrey Rush in biopic The Life and Death of Peter Sellers and Al Pacino and Ben Stiller in comedy sequel Meet the Fockers

Plus Sealed Sections
• We have the hottest news in Hollywood! Including all the latest news and gossip from the star-studded Cannes Film Festival, why Demi Moore has hit the headlines and what exactly were Jake Gyllenhaal and Kirsten Dunst doing in the department store changing room?
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
15 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 20 brand new releases, including Godsend, Twisted and The Prince and Me
and 15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Panic Room, Open Range and Lost in Translation

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #645, Summer 2004 Film Review #645, Summer 2004
(Reference #F168)

132 pages of the best in all the latest movies!

Features
The Bigger Picture Sneak peaks poster previews of A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Incredibles and Alien vs Predator!
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Director Alfonso Cuarón about the plans he implemented helming the third Harry Potter movie
Jersey Girl Star Ben Affleck reveals why he is certain that this romantic tale of a single dad finding love will put him back into the big league
Troy Director Wolfgang Petersen on the movie and what's next for him…
30 Under 30 From Casey Affleck to Elijah Wood, here’s our selection of the brightest of the youngest players in Hollywood.
NEW FEATURE: Your Film Review What you think of the new movies, interviewed outside the cinema!
The Day After Tomorrow Why is one of the more serious actors in Hollywood, 23-year-old Jake Gyllenhaal, in a Roland Emmerich-directed summer blockbuster?
Mean Girls Star Lindsay Lohan on why it's good to be bad
Connie and Carla Nia Vardolos tells us why life's a drag in her new comedy
Walking Tall Star The Rock gives us the heads-up on his new movie
The Whole Ten Yards We catch up with Matthew Perry about his thoughts on the end of Friends and what it’ll mean for his movie career.

Plus Brand New Sealed Sections
• Read what all the biggest stars have to say about their upcoming movies in Inside Hollywood, including Denzel Washington, Billy Bob Thornton and Hugh Jackman
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 20 brand new releases, including Deep Blue, The Cat’s Meow and Freeze Frame
and 14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with The Return of the King, The Last Samurai and Stuck on You

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #644, June 2004 Film Review #644, June 2004
(Reference #F167)

132 packed pages

Features
The Day After Tomorrow The master of the disaster movie, director Roland Emmerich reveals all about his new movie about environmental catastrophe on a global scale.
Troy Sean Bean tells us about the epic task of recreating the ancient battlefields of Troy as Odysseus – and his favourite football team!
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind Star Jim Carrey reminisces about his role in this mesmerizing movie about memories…
Van Helsing We hunt down star Hugh Jackman and spooky director Stephen Sommers…
The Top Twenty Movie Monsters Our definitive guide to the best Horror creations ever to menace the big screen!
The Calcium Kid Rafe Spall tells us what it was like to spar with Orlando Bloom in this tale of a British boxer
The Company Director Robert Altman takes us behind the scenes of his brilliant ballet drama.
The Butterfly Effect Actor/producer Ashton Kutcher tells us why he took a flutter on Time-travelling Sci-Fi.
Secret Window Johnny Depp sheds some light on his role as a writer in this Steven King adaptation.
Kill Bill Part 2 Daryl Hannah on her role as the wicked Elle Driver
The Bigger Picture All the best movies coming your way…

Plus Brand New Sealed Sections
• Read what all the biggest stars have to say about their upcoming movies in Inside Hollywood
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
19 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
33 brand new releases, including Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen, Our House and Shattered Glass
and 12 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with The Return of the King, The Last Samurai and Stuck on You

plus 9 pages of the hottest movie news…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #643, May 2004 Film Review #643, May 2004
(Reference #F166)

Bumper 132-Page Issue

Features
Kill Bill Quentin Tarantino talks candidly about his career, his influences and violence in the movies.
Under the Tuscan Sun Diane Lane tells us about her bright new movie and why she’s happy making the films that she loves.
Monster Charlize Theron revealed why she was happy to glam down for her role as serial killer Aileen Wournos.
Shaun of the Dead Star Simon Pegg and director Edgar Wright introduce us to their brand new ‘romzomcom’ comedy horror
50 First Dates Adam Sandler tells us why he’s decided to play it straight with his new mainstream romantic comedy.
Dawn of the Dead Ving Rhames reveals why his action movie experience did not prepare him to face hordes of the living dead!
Win a Date with Tad Hamilton! Kate Bosworth on dating a real life movie star in her new comedy.
John Turturro The character actor talks about his starring roles in Fear X and Secret Window
On the Other Side of the Bed New Latino star Paz Vega tells us all about her saucy Spanish comedy.
The Bigger Picture We show you what amazing new movies are heading your way!
Top 25 Iron Maidens We bring you our list of the lovely ladies who could kick your ass and still look fabulous while doing it!

Plus Brand New Sealed Sections
• Read what all the biggest stars have to say about their upcoming movies in Inside Hollywood
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!

Reviews
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
30 brand new releases, including The Cat in the Hat, Gothika and Switchblade Romance
and 12 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Kill Bill: Volume 1, SWAT and The Matrix Revolutions

plus 12 pages of the hottest movie news…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #642, April 2004 Film Review #642, April 2004
(Reference #F165)

Bumper 132-Page Issue

Features
The Bigger Picture You want posters – we’ll give you posters! Check out the cool Wesley Snipes in Blade: Trinity, Will Smith in I, Robot and our first look at Tom Hanks in the Coen Brothers’ remake of The Ladykillers.
The Calcium Kid After success with The Lord of the Rings and The Pirates of the Caribbean, Orlando Bloom reveals why he loves this smaller-scale Brit flick.
21 Grams We talk to Hollywood heavyweight Sean Penn and his two co-stars Naomi Watts and Benicio Del Toro.
Top 20 TV adaptations With the comedy remake of Starsky & Hutch heading our way, we celebrate the biggest and best TV transfers.
Open Range Star and director Kevin Costner tells us why he’s relieved to have made another great movie.
The Missing What on earth is Cate Blanchett doing being all rough and ready in a Western when she barely knows a thing about the genre? We track her down to find out!
Starsky & Hutch We interrogated stars Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson about their comedy remake of the famous Seventies cop show.
Welcome to the Jungle After earning a reputation as a goofball comic actor, Seann William Scott tells us why he finally wants to be taken seriously.
Against the Ropes Meg Ryan is determined to shake off her cutesy image. Her latest movie, based on a true story, should help that mission, playing a boxing promoter fighting her way in a male-dominated sport.

Reviews
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 25 brand new releases, including The Passion of the Christ, Suzie Gold and Mona Lisa Smile
and 16 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Love Actually, The Italian Job and Bad Boys 2

plus 10 pages of the hottest movie news…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #641, March 2004 Film Review #641, March 2004
(Reference #F164)

Bumper 132-Page Issue

Features
2004 Preview The biggest films of the coming year, including Halle Berry giving us the chills in ghostly Gothika, Hugh Jackman hunting monsters in Van Helsing and Renée Zellweger back as Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
Mona Lisa Smile Julia Roberts on her new role as a free-spirited art teacher who shakes up a conservative 1950s school for girls
Something’s Gotta Give Jack Nicholson’s latest film sees him falling for Diane Keaton. The two stars tell us all about their new romantic comedy
School of Rock Jack Black tells us how he has combined his talent for comedy with his love of music to make this hilarious movie
The Statement Michael Caine tells us that there are two choices in making a movie: 'have a laugh' and 'get better' – and he decided to do both!
House of Sand and Fog Ben Kingsley stars as an ex-Iranian colonel living the American dream. He reveals why he just had to take the role (that may well get him an Oscar).
Cheaper By The Dozen How Tom Welling, star of the smash TV series Smallville, made the super-powered leap to the big-screen.
Top 25 Romantic Movies As Valentine’s Day is thrust upon us once again, take time to revel in the cheesiness of it all with our countdown of the best slushy movies of all time
Cary Grant To celebrate the centenary of the great man’s birth, we look at the life and work of Hollywood’s suave star

Reviews
20 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
23 brand new releases, including The Haunted Mansion, Dogville and Looney Tunes: Back in Action
and 16 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with American Pie: The Wedding, Secretary and Bringing Down the House

plus 12 pages of the hottest movie news…

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #640, February 2004 Film Review #640, February 2004
(Reference #F163)

Features:
Paycheck Stars Uma Thurman and Ben Affleck reveal all about their new memory-erasing, money-grabbing action thriller.
Cold Mountain Superstar Nicole Kidman puts in yet another stunning performance as farm girl Ada in her new Civil War drama, and reveals the truth behind those rumours of a romance with co-star Jude Law
Runaway Jury As another of courtroom-novelist John Grisham’s bestsellers gets a big screen makeover, British star Rachel Weisz tells us how she held her own against co-stars John Cusack, Dustin Hoffman and Gene Hackman.
Big Fish Ewan McGregor explains why he just had to be part of Tim Burton’s new Fantasy drama.
Scarlett Johansson Hollywood’s newest bright young thing talks to us about her critically acclaimed roles in the upcoming Lost in Translation and Girl with a Pearl Earring. Remember – you saw her here first!
American Splendor The unassuming Paul Giamatti certainly doesn’t look like the star of the coolest movies of 2004. And aren’t we used to seeing him in kids’ movies? We demanded answers!
Top 25 Tearjerkers Christmas is over! It’s cold outside! We have to go back to work. Don’t despair – we give you the opportunity to revel in the misery by counting down the top weepies of all time

Reviews:
18 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
23 brand new releases, including Stuck on You, A Mighty Wind and Sylvia
and 9 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with American Pie: The Wedding, Secretary and Bringing Down the House
plus 12 pages of the hottest movie news…
Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99

Film Review #639, January 2004 Film Review #639, January 2004
(Reference #F162)

Bumper 132-Page Issue

Features:
Special Preview: Troy An everyday story of Greek folk… with a breathtaking cast, big budget, stacks of action and gorgeous locations! We reckon Troy might be the biggest film of the new year!
The Last Samurai Tom Cruise is already receiving rave reviews for his role as an embittered American Civil War veteran who learns the way of the Samurai – but will The Last Samurai earn Cruise that coveted Oscar…?
The Return of the King With the movie completing the Lord of the Rings trilogy, we discover what Elijah Wood and Miranda Otto have learnt from making the films.
Timeline We interview director Richard Donner about the Sci-Fi adventure.
Peter Pan Jason Isaacs seems to be building himself a bit of a reputation as a big-screen villain, and whose latest role is as the monstrous Captain Hook. “I’m just a jobbing actor,” he tells Film Review.
Freaky Friday Jamie Lee Curtis reveals why it was easy playing a teenager in this remake of the classic body-swap comedy… but she might be giving up movies for good!
Out of Time Denzel Washington has done just about everything in the movies that can be done – short of dragging up à la Tootsie. So what can the Oscar-winning actor do next? We find out!
Brother Bear Is the latest Disney animated adventure going to be the last that doesn’t rely on solely on computer wizardy? We delve behind the scenes…
Classic Movie: The Three Musketeers Although it was planned as one epic movie, director Richard Lester’s story of Alexander Dumas’s musketeers was released in two parts… and the cast members weren’t happy! We talk to the major players of this perennial classic.

Reviews:
28 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
18 brand new releases, including American Splendor and Cold Mountain and, along with our massive DVD coverage this issue, we bring you the latest in cable and satellite available for home viewing, plus films to rent and books and CD soundtracks to buy.

Go to Web edition

Price:  £3.99
VI Direct Catalogue : Film Review : Film Review 2004

Go Up
Go Up
Contents
Contents
Information
Information
Search
Search
E-Mail Us
E-Mail Us


Visual Imagination – publisher of film, tv and Science Fiction magazines