Visual Imagination Ltd
All items shown are priced in US DOLLARS ($). Shipping costs are excluded from prices shown, except for subscriptions. Any shipping costs will be calculated for you at the checkout.
All customers outside the USA, please use our UK STERLING (£) store here: VI Direct Catalogue

Up a level
Up a level
Catalog
Catalog
Information
Information
Search
Search
Send Mail
Send Mail

VI DIRECT Catalog : Film Review : Film Review 2005

Film Review #664, December 2005 Film Review #664, December 2005
(Reference #F187)

132 feature-packed pages!

Features
Brad Pitt An exclusive interview with a great photoshoot
Jodie Foster The multi-Oscar winning star chats to us about her latest thriller Flightplan
Rachel Weisz The English actress and City of God director Fernando Meirelles talk about their latest film The Constant Gardener
Bob Hoskins The loveable cockney actor tells us why he got naked for his latest film Mrs Henderson Presents
Val Kilmer and Robert Downey Jr The two stars and director Shane Black on their latest film Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
Laura Linney The actress and her co-star Jennifer Carpenter discuss their powerful new Supernatural thriller The Exorcism of Emily Rose
Marilyn Agrelo The director of Mad Hot Ballroom discusses her inspiration for the film
V for Vendetta The creative team on their vision of the future
Comeback Kings From Drew Barrymore to Burt Reynolds, we take a look at the tenacious stars who’ve survived many ups and downs on the career rollercoaster
Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith Star Hayden Christensen and Ian McDiarmid discuss their roles as Anakin Skywalker and Chancellor Palpatine

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 20 brand new releases, including Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, The Exorcism of Emily Rose and The Legend of Zorro
13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at three future releases North Country, Just Friends and Memoirs of a Geisha
Your Film Review It’s our Film Review this month, as the production team reveal their favourite flicks currently showing at cinemas
The Film That Changed My Life Hayden Christensen tells us which movie inspired him to become helmet wearing, lightsaber wielding, chronic asthmatic, Darth Vader
and 19 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip…

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #663, November 2005 Film Review #663, November 2005
(Reference #F186)

132 magical pages!

Features
Rupert Grint and Emma Watson On-Set Interview We chat exclusively to Ron Weasley (Grint) and Hermione Granger (Watson)
Hogwarts Class of 2005 We meet the young performers who will be bringing Harry Potter’s new classmates to life, including Stanislav Ianevski as Victor Krum, Katie Leung as Cho Chang and Robert Pattinson as Cedric Diggory
Nick Park We visit the Aardman studios in Bristol where the claymation director explains why it was finally time for Wallace & Gromit to go on a feature length adventure in The Curse of the Were-Rabbit
Karl Urban The Kiwi star reveals the vigorous training he underwent so that he could kick alien butt in Doom
Terry Gilliam The director on his battle with the Hollywood establishment to make The Brothers Grimm
Darren Lynn Bousman The up and coming director on Saw 2
Jason Biggs The comic actor discusses his latest film Guy X
James Cameron The director and self-proclaimed king of the world discusses the long production process behind the new Titanic Special Edition DVDs
Thomas Sangster The young star of Love Actually discusses his second cousin Hugh Grant and acting alongside Emma Thompson in Nanny McPhee
Jacques Audiard The director tells us why he was keen to remake the classic Harvey Keitel film Fingers as French language crime thriller The Beat My Heart Skipped
Sandra Hebron The London Film Festival’s artistic director guides us through this year’s most exciting exhibitions and events
By the Book With the imminent release of Goblet of Fire and The Chronicles of Narnia we look at the latest books being turned from page-turners into box-office earners

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 20 brand new releases, including Revolver, Domino and Wallace & Gromit: Curse of the Were-Rabbit
12 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at three exciting upcoming releases: We take a look at three future releases Match Point, Romance and Cigarettes and Syriana
Your Film Review We popped along to the Odeon in London’s Leicester Square to find out what some of our readers thought of Cinderella Man
The Film That Changed My Life Artistic Director of the London Film Festival Sandra Hebron reveals her favourite flick
and 14 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip

and even more...

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #662, October 2005 Film Review #662, October 2005
(Reference #F185)

132 packed pages!

Features
Orlando Bloom The star tells us all about his new role in Elizabethtown
Cameron Crowe The director reveals the personal grief that inspired him to write and direct his latest movie, Elizabethtown
Ray Winstone The cockney charmer actor tells all about his latest movies Everything and The Proposition
George A Romero The director tells us why it’s like he’s never been away with Land of the Dead
Tim Burton The director on his latest animated Gothic-opus The Corpse Bride
Ridley Scott The veteran director discusses his passion for film-making and bringing the hugely ambitious Kingdom of Heaven to the screen
Joss Whedon The Buffy creator reveals how he has resurrected his cancelled TV show Firefly in the form of the Sci-Fi movie Serenity
Chiwetel Ejiofor The star of the not one but three new movies,Four Brothers, Kinky Boots and Serenity, tells us why he is happy to play the outsider
Nicolas Winding Refn The controversial Danish director tells us about his latest film With Blood on my Hands: Pusher 2
Kuno Becker The rising Mexican star on his football drama Goal!
Comedy Corpses We take our hats off to the comedy stiffs that have given the movie-going public so much inanimate pleasure over the years

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 30 brand new releases, including The Aristocrats, Red Eye and Howl’s Moving Castle
15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at three exciting upcoming releases: Casanova, Chicken Little and The Weather Man
Your Film Review We head to The Grove cinema in Los Angeles to find out what some of our readers thought of 40 Year Old Virgin and Red Eye
The Film That Changed My Life TV’s The League of Gentlemen’s very own shopgirl Tubbs reveals why Babe really floats her boat…
and 14 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip

and even more...

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #661, September 2005 Film Review #661, September 2005
(Reference #F184)
Short Supply

132 packed pages!

Features
Keira Knightley She tells us why she opted for these diverse and challenging scripts, and reveals the bizarre similarities that link the two central characters of Domino and Pride and Prejudice
Russell Crowe He explains how he became integral to getting Cinderella Man off the ground
Gus Van Sant The experimental director tells us why his latest film, Lost Days, is more of a ‘poem’ dedicated to musician Kurt Cobain’s final days
Nicole Kidman The versatile actress talks about her latest project, Bewitched
Robert Carlyle He tells us why he prefers to work on small-scale projects, like his latest film The Mighty Celt
Wes Craven The masterful Horror director is joined by Rachel McAdams, the star of his new film Red-Eye, to discuss his shift towards away from gut-spillage
Danny Dyer He gives us the low down on his role in the ’80s-set crime caper The Business
Leo Gregory He talks to us about working with Elijah Wood on the hooligan-centred drama Green Street
Film Olympics We hand out medals to the best sporting films to date…

Plus..
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases, with over 30 brand new releases, including Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Island and Rock School
16 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs and DVDs
The Bigger Picture We take a look at three future releases: Proof, An Unfinished Life and Walk the Line
Your Film Review We talk to the movie-goers of London's movie home, Leicester Square, to get their views on Charlie and the Choclate Factory
The Film That Changed My Life Actress Amber Tamblyn recalls Labyrinth
and 17 pages of all the latest hottest movie news and gossip

and even more...

Go to Web edition

Price:  $10.00

Film Review #660, August 2005 Film Review #660, August 2005
(Reference #F183)

132 packed pages!

Features
Summer Blockbuster Cooldown We present the 30 must-see movies for the rest of the year, including Pride and Prejudice, King Kong and Tim Burton’s Corpse Bride. We’ve even thrown in a special set visit to Sci-Fi thriller Aeon Flux
Julian McMahon The star reveals why he relished playing the villainous Dr Doom in Fantastic Four
Jamie Bell We caught up with him to discuss his roles in Undertow and the controversial Dear Wendy, and Peter Jackson's remake of King Kong
Lindsay Lohan The young star spoke to us about growing up on screen, plus the responsibilities of taking on a family favourite in Herbie: Fully Loaded
Rob Zombie The Shock Rock star-turned-director tells us about his blood spattered second feature Devil’s Rejects
Director’s Chair Writer/director Paul Haggis, screenwriter of the highly praised Million Dollar Baby, tells us all about his critically acclaimed new drama Crash
Anne Bancroft Tribute We look back at the luminous career of this actress including, of course, her scene-stealing role as Mrs Robinson in The Graduate
Don Cheadle The actor talks to us about his harrowing performance in Hotel Rwanda
Russ Meyer We travel back in time to bring you an interview with the legendary director, where he discusses his extensive, and controversial, work within the film industry

Plus..
All the latest Hollywood gossip!
• Is Tom Cruise losing the plot?
• Jennifer Garner and Ben Affleck marry in secret – and has Keanu Reeves done the same?
• Harry Potter actor Daniel Radcliffe steps outside the franchise
The Bigger Picture We take a look at three future releases: Heath Ledger and Matt Damon take on the fairytales as The Brothers Grimm, Steve Martin joins Beyoncé Knowles in the updated Pink Panther and Ben Kingsley goes back to the Future in Time travel adventure A Sound of Thunder
Vox Pops We talk to the movie-goers of Los Angeles’s hippest cinema The Grove to get their views on mega movies Batman Begins and War of the Worlds
The Film That Changed My Life The Descent director Neil Marshall reveals why Raiders of the Lost Ark made him pick up a video camera for the first time
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 25 brand new releases, including Dark Water, The Descent and Silver City
13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs Hostage and Tarnation, the music of Jerry Goldsmith and the video game releases of Batman Begins and Madagascar
and 14 pages of all the hottest movie news and gossip and even more...

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #659, July 2005 Film Review #659, July 2005
(Reference #F182)

132 packed pages!

Features
Johnny Depp With the release of his latest blockbuster, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, fast approaching, we talk to Johnny Depp about his varied movie career and versatile acting style
Asia Argento The maverick director and rising star tells us why she’s happy to act in mainstream monsters like xXx and the upcoming Land of the Dead remake
Stephen Chow The new master of kung fu capers tells us how he has managed to keep a low profile in his native Hong Kong, despite writing, directing and starring in the record-breaking blockbusters Shaolin Soccer and Kung Fu Hustle
Director’s Chair Overnight co-director Tony Montana tells us how his documentary could have been far more cutting to its subject, the failed first-time writer/director Troy Duffy
Madagascar The animal stars tell us all about the ‘filming’ of DreamWorks’s latest breakout animation. Find out what drives them wild and what rocks their boat
Cannes Report We avoid the stormtroopers and fight our way to the heart of the Cannes Film festival to get you the low-down on all the hottest upcoming feature films
Around the World in 80 Films We race around the world in search of 80 films that were so proud of their locals that they included them in the title, from 101 Reykjavik to The Thief of Baghdad to the imaginary realm of Terry Gilliam’s Brazil
Laura Linney The Kinsey star tells us what it was like to work with Liam Neeson again, relates her experiences on Love Actually and explains her role in the upcoming PS
Paddy Considine The flourishing British actor tells us why he enjoyed his challenging part in My Summer of Love
Todd Williams The Door in the Floor director tells us how he acquired the remake rights to John Irving’s novel A Widow for One Year for only a dollar

Plus...
All the latest Hollywood gossip!
• Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes get tongues wagging
• Mark Hamill reveals how George Lucas lied to him
• Renée Zellweger ties the knot
The Bigger Picture We take a closer look at three future treats: Keira Knightley gets pouty in Pride and Prejudice, Nicolas Cage goes hell for leather in Ghost Rider and Natalie Portman shows off her new shaved look in V for Vendetta
Vox Pops We talk to movie-goers at London’s Odeon Leicester Square to get their views on Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith
The Film That Changed My Life Jennifer Tilly surprises us with her choice of the film that has influenced her the most

Reviews
14 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 20 brand new releases, including Imaginary Heroes, Mr and Mrs Smith and Czech Dreams
13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with special edition DVDs, including Born on the Fourth of July and Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, the music of Steven Spielberg’s greatest films get gathered together on CD and the computer game version of Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith
and 16 pages of all the hottest movie news and gossip

and even more...

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #658, Summer 2005 Film Review #658, Summer 2005
(Reference #F181)

148 packed pages!

Summer Blockbusters
We preview the brightest and best films on release this summer. Plus we look forward to the bustling batch of blockbusters lined up for the end of the year and the beginning of 2006, as well as tracking down the biggest hits from the year of our ‘birth’, 1950…
War of the Worlds 2005 Tom Cruise tells us how he and Spielberg came to collaborate again, what it was like to work under the dynamic director on such a huge project
Batman Begins ‘Caped Crusader’ Christian Bale rejoices at the fear and ferocity which has been returned to the franchise
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory We delve inside the factory doors of Tim Burton’s new version of the Roald Dahl book to see what’s in store for lovers of the marvellous and the macabre
Fantastic Four Michael Chiklis, star of hit TV show The Shield, tells us how he did his Thing on the set of the latest ensemble superhero movie

And...
John Mills Tribute We look back on the career of this British great and admire how much he contributed to the local film landscape
House of Wax We talk to the cast and crew about carving out a new version
20th Century Fox 70th Anniversary The road to cinematic success hasn’t always run smooth, as we find out…
It’s All Gone Pete Tong Comedian Paul Kaye tells us about his new film
Censorship in British Cinema We go behind the cutting room floor and find a set of shocks in store
The Aviator Kate Beckinsale tells us what it was like to play “the most beautiful woman in the world”, Eva Gardner
Ray Director Taylor Hackford reveals just what he was doing during those 15 years of preparation
Director’s Chair Danish director Anders Rønnow Klarlund’s innovative new film Strings stars wooden puppets whose lips can’t move. He tells us why he followed this extraordinary cinematic path

Plus...
All the latest Hollywood gossip!
• Have Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner secretly married?
• Jane Fonda insists Jennifer Lopez isn’t a diva
• The Bond casting couch cools off for a while, as Dame Judi Dench insists Brosnan will reprise the role
The Bigger Picture Three double-page pictures of some of the hottest films on the movie horizon; The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Red Eye, and Domino
Vox Pops Cinema-goers in London’s Leicester Square reveal their thoughts on Kingdom of Heaven
The Film That Changed My Life Trainspotting director Danny Boyle on Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now

Reviews
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
30 brand new releases, including Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith, Sin City and Thirteen Conversations About One Thing
15 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with The Matrix Online in our brand new games section, Closer hits the DVD shelves and Kramer vs Kramer returns to the small screen
and 32 pages of all the hottest movie news and gossip

and even more...

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #657, June 2005 Film Review #657, June 2005
(Reference #F180)

148 packed pages!

Features
Sin City Director Robert Rodriguez on his creative collaboration with Frank Miller, the author of the graphic novel, and stars Benicio Del Toro and Rosario Dawson discuss their unique experiences working on the film…
Adrien Brody The actor discusses how he teetered on the brink of sanity for his latest film The Jacket, and working with (the often naked) Keira Knightley!
Kingdom of Heaven Actress Eva Green discloses the truth on working with epic maestro Ridley Scott and the changes she noticed in her co-star Orlando Bloom during filming
V for Vendetta Stars Natalie Portman and James Purefoy discuss gunpowder, treason and plot…
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Britain’s foremost authority talks to star Martin Freeman and all involved on the production
James Dean We celebrate the legendary screen icon’s career and note the 50th anniversary of his death
Palindromes We get controversial with director Todd Solondz about his bizarre tale on identity and underage pregnancy
Mean Creek Jacob Aaron Estes discusses the film’s central theme
Garden State Star Natalie Portman explains why she was so enraptured by Zach Braff’s coming-of-age film
National Treasure We join forces with star Nicolas Cage and producer Jerry Bruckheimer to discover the worth of this modern adventure
Sideways Star Paul Giamatti toasts the award-winning film
Seed of Chucky We dismember the sequel (in the best way possible!) with writer/director Don Mansini and star Jennifer Tilly

Plus...
All the latest Hollywood gossip!
• Matthew McConaughey discusses his blossoming romance with Sahara co-star Penelope Cruz
• Orlando saves lives on-screen and off
• The latest on Pierce Brosnan’s 007 successor
The Bigger Picture Three double-page pictures of some of the hottest films coming your way; Batman Begins, A Scanner Darkly, and The Island
Vox Pops We ask cinema-goers in London's Leicester Square their verdict on Constantine and Closer
The Film That Changed My Life Wondrous Oblivion director Paul Morrison reveals which classic film inspired him the most

Reviews
16 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
28 brand new releases, including Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Kingdom of Heaven and The Amityville Horror
and 16 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with House of Flying Daggers on DVD, The Essential Elmer Bernstein Film Music Collection CD and the book The Cinema of George Lucas

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #656, May 2005 Film Review #656, May 2005
(Reference #F179)
Short Supply

164 packed pages!

Features
Hayden Christensen The Canadian actor talks frankly with us in an exclusive interview about his role as Darth Vader in the eagerly anticipated Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith.
Naomi Watts Aussie actress Naomi Watts reveals what it was like working on The Ring Two with original Ringu director Hideo Nakata
We Love Star Wars With the attention the upcoming Revenge of the Sith is creating, we thought we’d ask a few celebrities, including Mike Leigh and rock band Ash, their honest thoughts on the franchise. Their answers may surprise you…
'Austin Powers' We discover why the homeland of Austin, Texas has become such a hot spot for directors Robert Rodriguez and Richard Linklater
The Wedding Date Sitcom star Debra Messing on her first starring film role in the romantic comedy
The Amityville Horror In anticipation of the upcoming remake, we consider what made the original one of the most successful and terrifying Horror films to date, and if the story is actually based on truth or hoax. Plus interviews with original star Margot Kidder and remake queen Melissa George!
Sean Penn The outspoken star talks to us about what determines his film choices, the price of fame, and his budding aspiration in documentary film making
Spaghetti Westerns Clint Eastwood gets the commemorative treatment as we take a look at how Spaghetti Westerns made him a star!

Plus...
Sealed Section
The Jacket director tells us why he hates Hollywood
• Why Daniel Day-Lewis doesn’t feel the need to make many films
• The latest on set of the Cruise and Spielberg War of the Worlds
The Bigger Picture Three double-page pictures of some of the hottest films on the movie horizon. an exclusive King Kong pictorial special, as we go on set with Peter Jackson and take a look at the terrifying new artwork!
Vox Pops We ask cinema-goers in Hollywood their verdict on Be Cool and Cursed
The Film That Changed My Life Director Barry Sonnenfeld reveals which Stanley Kubrick film inspired his career

Reviews
22 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
22 brand new releases, including Be Cool, Bullet Boy and The Rage in Placid Lake
and 23 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with I Heart Huckabees on DVD, The Chorus CD and the book James Dean

Go to Web edition

Price:  $10.00

Film Review #655, April 2005 Film Review #655, April 2005
(Reference #F178)

164 packed pages!

Features
Be Cool We talk to stars John Travolta and Uma Thurman, plus director F Gary Gray
Constantine Keanu Reeves and other members of the cast and crew reveal their hopes and fears for this classy-looking comic-book conversion
Melinda and Melinda Star Radha Mitchell lets us in on the serious working methods of writer/director Woody Allen
Oscars 2005 The rundown of all the films and actors lined up for glory at this year’s Academy Awards
Kinsey Liam Neeson gives a frank but friendly assessment of the controversial scientist he plays
A Hard Day’s Night The enduring appeal of the Beatles’ film is scrutinised in this extensive tribute
Robots Director Chris Wedge lets us in on the complications involved in making this CGI feature
History of Horror We take a special look at the evolution of the Horror genre

Plus...
Sealed Section
• We look at who was victorious at the SAG awards
• Keanu Reeves reveals his thoughts on his new Sci-Fi film Constantine and his previous film choices
• We find out what’s been bugging Nicole Kidman
The Bigger Picture Three double-page pictures of some of the hottest films on the movie horizon, The latest Spielberg movie War of the Worlds, Tim Burton’s animation Corpse Bride and the big-screen outing for a British TV show in The League of Gentlemen’s Apocalypse
Vox Pops We ask cinema-goers at London’s Odeon West End what they thought of Ocean’s Twelve
The Film That Changed My Life Sigourney Weaver reveals the comedy-drama that affected her more than any other film

Reviews
36 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
25 brand new releases, including Hitch, Hotel Rwanda and Casshern
and 16 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Dr Strangeglove on DVD, The Aviator CD and Shock! Horror! on the ’80s Horror scene

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #654, March 2005 Film Review #654, March 2005
(Reference #F177)

196 packed pages! Our biggest-ever issue!

Features
Orlando Bloom We check out three big upcoming films starring the successful young Brit, including the controversial Kingdom of Heaven, plus we examine his rapid rise to prominence
The Life Aquatic Bill Murray discusses the idiosyncrasies of his latest character, deranged oceanographer Steve Zissou,
The Woodsman Kevin Bacon talks about his latest project
Coach Carter Samuel L Jackson on why his own experiences of education made him the perfect person for this movie
The Magic Roundabout Executive producer Cameron McCracken on the challenges of bringing the much loved children's show to the big screen
Spanglish Adam Sangler on working with writer/director James L Brooks in his latest comedy-drama
The 101 Definitive DVDs We check out the pick of DVDs with the most to offer
Gone with the Wind With the release of the Special Edition DVD we look back at what makes this epic movie such a classic
Doing it for the Kids With kids TV inspiring a new set of films we imagine how a few other tele-visual gems could be converted into Hollywood blockbusters

Plus...
Sealed Section
• Hilary Swank falling in love with boxing during training for Million Dollar Baby
• John Travolta playing a haggard alcoholic in A Love Song for Bobby Long
• The split between Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston
The Bigger Picture Three double-page pictures of some of the hottest films on the movie horizon, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and The Dukes of Hazzard
Vox Pops We ask London cinema-goers what they thought of Closer and House of Flying Daggers
The Film That Changed My Life Spider-Man 2 director Sam Raimi surprises us when he reveals the film that has influenced him the most

Reviews
34 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
24 brand new releases, including Ocean’s Twelve, The Door in the Floor and Elektra
and 16 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Hero and David Hemmings' autobiography Blow Up and Other Exaggerations

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #653, February 2005 Film Review #653, February 2005
(Reference #F176)

148 packed pages

Features
Ocean’s Twelve George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Don Cheadle, Andy Garcia and director Steven Soderbergh give us the low-down
Team America Trey Parker and Matt Stone tell us why they were mainly targeting “extremists” on all sides of the political spectrum, and why they’ll never work with puppets again
Ladder 49 John Travolta and Joaquin Phoenix tell us why their film is the first to truly focus on the firemen
Ray Jamie Foxx and director Taylor Hackford reveal how they got Ray Charles’s blessing for their unflinchingly honest biopic
Vera Drake Imelda Staunton tells us why it was a joy to play the persecuted protagonist
Creep Franka Potente and director Christopher Smith tell us about the trials and tribulations of making their Horror film on the Underground
Dodgeball Ben Stiller tells us why everyone wanted to work on this script and admits that he can’t throw a ball to save his life
Dream Team We look back at 15 of the best-ever ensemble movies, from classics like The Magnificent Seven to more modern entries like Magnolia

Plus...
Sealed Section
• Jamie Foxx reflects on his three Golden Globe nominations
The Aviator star Leonardo DiCaprio says he’s not quite as obsessive as Howard Hughes
• Ben Affleck reveals his latest famous girlfriend
• Nicole Kidman quits the upcoming remake of The Producers
The Bigger Picture Three double-page pictures of some of the hottest films on the movie horizon, Madagascar, Wallace and Gromit: Curse of the Wererabbit, The Ring Two
Vox Pops We ask patrons at Mann’s Chinese Theatre in Hollywood for their impressions of Ocean’s Twelve
The Film That Changed My Life Jim Carrey reveals which movie touched him the most

Reviews
24 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
22 brand new releases, including Lemony Snicket, Team America and Sideways
and 14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Gone with the Wind and a Dirk Bogarde biography

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #652, January 2005 Film Review #652, January 2005
(Reference #F175)

148 packed pages

Features
2005 Preview We take a look at the rich pickings in 2005’s film schedule. Highlights include Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Batman Begins and Robots
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events Director Brad Silberling tells us why this was a delight to make
The Aviator John C Reilly talks us through the early days and current highs of his burgeoning career
It’s a Wonderful Life Frank Capra Jr gives us a unique insight into the making of this classic
House of Flying Daggers Asian star Takeshi Kanishero speaks freely about his new film
The Phantom of the Opera Director Joel Schumacher takes us behind the scenes
The 12 Films of Christmas Count down the 12 greatest Christmas movies with our list of old and new festive favourites

Plus...
Sealed Section
• Pierce Brosnan won’t mince his words about Bond
• Sam Raimi reveals his fears for Spider-Man 3
• Ben Affleck reveals his latest famous girlfriend
• We have all the latest news in Hollywood Hotline – so hot, we’ve had to keep it under wraps!
The Bigger Picture Two-page photos of Million Dollar Baby, The Magic Roundabout and The Stander
Vox Pops Our intrepid reporters find out what you think of the movies. We were at the Mann’s Chinese Theatre in Hollywood, getting feedback on After the Sunset, Spongebob Squarepants and The Seed of Chucky
The Film That Changed My Life Writer and star Jon Favreau reveals which movie affected him so much he moved city

Reviews
18 packed pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
18 brand new releases, including National Treasure and The Merchant of Venice
and 14 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs with Memento and book Profundo Argento documents the life of Horror maestro Dario Argento

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95
VI DIRECT Catalog : Film Review : Film Review 2005

Up a level
Up a level
Catalog
Catalog
Information
Information
Search
Search
Send Mail
Send Mail


Visual Imagination - publishers of film, television and Science Fiction magazines