Visual Imagination Ltd
All items shown are priced in US DOLLARS ($). Shipping costs are excluded from prices shown, except for subscriptions. Any shipping costs will be calculated for you at the checkout.
All customers outside the USA, please use our UK STERLING (Ł) store here: VI Direct Catalogue

Up a level
Up a level
Catalog
Catalog
Information
Information
Search
Search
Send Mail
Send Mail

VI DIRECT Catalog : Film Review : Film Review 2003

Film Review #638, December 2003 Film Review #638, December 2003
(Reference #F161)

Bumper 132-Page Issue

Features:
The Return of the King Will the One Ring that could enslave the world of Men be destroyed in Mount Doom? Will the Fellowship survive the machinations of Sauron and Sarumon? We go behind the scenes to find out!
The Matrix Revolutions As the final instalment is unleashed simultaneously around the world, we ask the cast and crew their thoughts and feelings as the Sci-Fi epic draws to a close.
Master and Commander Two movie franchises come to a close and another one starts up! Russell Crowe takes the lead in Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, based on the best-selling books by Patrick O’Brian and reveals what life is like on the ocean wave.
SWAT With the cop actioner SWAT and the low-budget interMission out in short order, we talk to star Colin Farrell and preview the epic Oliver Stone movie, Alexander.
Love Actually We talk to scene-stealing Bill Nighy in his role as an ageing rock-star who makes the most bizarre comeback ever.
Wilbur (Wants to Kill Himself) With three films scheduled for release over a matter of weeks, it seems that film-makers have seen the light and realized what a marvel Shirley Henderson is? And not before time, we say!
Massive Christmas DVD Preview! In tandem with our sister title Ultimate DVD, we devote a whopping 32 pages to the biggest and best DVDs heading your way over the next few weeks. Christmas shopping couldn’t be made easier!

Reviews:
28 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
29 brand new releases , including The Mother, Thirteen and Pieces of April and, along with our massive DVD coverage this issue, we bring you the latest in cable and satellite available for home viewing, plus films to rent and books and CD soundtracks to buy.

Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #637, November 2003 Film Review #637, November 2003
(Reference #F160)
Features:
The Matrix Revolutions Do you know what The Matrix is all about? We think we might have worked it all out…
Intolerable Cruelty George Clooney returns to the big screen alongside Catherine Zeta-Jones in this romantic comedy with a difference. Find out what he though of re-teaming with the amazing movie-makers, the Coen brothers.
Seabiscuit Definitely the oddest title of the year and something that’s been a quiet hit in the States. We talked to Tobey Maguire about getting to grips with his role in this horse-racing drama.
Kill Bill We talk to star Uma Thurman about the bloody revenge thriller.
In America She’s wowed them in Hollywood and fell in love with Manhattan – but does that mean the Minority Report star Samantha Morton will forget her roots?
Mystic River As Clint Eastwood’s film about friendships under pressure gets its UK release, Kevin Bacon reveals why he thinks he will never be allowed to do a romantic comedy.
Alien It’s almost 25 years ago since this landmark Sci-Fi movie appeared. Now with a director’s cut, we go back in time to talk to director Ridley Scott and Sigourney Weaver

Reviews:
Over 30 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
27 brand new releases , including Underworld and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and 11 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #636, October 2003 Film Review #636, October 2003
(Reference #F159)
Published September 11 2003

Features:
Ewan McGregor talks about his starring roles in two very different films, the Sixties comedy homage Down with Love and the hard-hitting thriller Young Adam. Also – find out why he’s glad Star Wars is almost over!
Matchstick Men: Director Sir Ridley Scott tells us why not every film needs to be an action-packed blockbuster with this small-scale but effect thriller
Underworld: Kate Beckinsale chats about donning a leather catsuit and doing her own stunts for this ultra-slick Vampire movie
Once Upon a Time in Mexico: The final instalment of Robert Rodruguez's El Mariachi trilogy is released and the Spy Kids trilogy is completed, too!
Bad Boys II: The original Fresh Prince Will Smith reveals just why he waited eight years to do this sequel
Party Monster: Seth Green, star of this hedonistic true story, explains his journey from Buffy The Vampire Slayer to one of the best films of the year.
Kill Bill: It’s been six years since his last film, and cult director Quentin Tarantino reveals all about his ultra-violent comeback.
King Kong : Lord of the Rings director Peter Jackson is doing the remake, but will it be as good as the marvellous 1933 original?

Reviews:
Over 40 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
23 brand new releases , including Finding Nemo and Mr In-Between and 13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #635, September 2003 Film Review #635, September 2003
(Reference #F158)

Features:
The Italian Job: The stars of the remake that dares to be better than the original talk to us! Mark Wahlberg and Donald Sutherland, along with director F Gary Gray share their experiences on the Mini adventure.
Jeepers Creepers 2: Jonathan Breck plays the ultimate in modern movie monsters, the terrifying Creeper. He tells us what we can expect from the spooky sequel…
Finding Nemo: We go behind the scenes of this fishy tale that’s one of our very favourite films of the year!
Movie Spotlight: Calendar Girls: Helen Mirren, our favourite Calendar Girl, reveals why she was all too happy to reveal all in this new British comedy.
Tears of the Sun: Bruce Willis reveals why he had to be a part of this hard-hitting and controversial drama.
Four Feathers: Heath Ledgers sums up all his courage to talk to us about his role in the remake of the British war classic.
Freddy vs Jason: Two of Horror’s greatest heroes come face to face for the first time – and we tell you everything you need to know about the gruesome twosome!
Confidence: Edward Burns tals about his role as a conman who gets on the wrong side of mob boss Dustin Hoffman.
Katharine Hepburn : We pay tribute to the life and work of the great Hollywood actress.

Reviews:
Over 40 pages bringing you the next four weeks of releases!
Over 25 brand new releases , including Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life and American Pie: The Wedding and 13 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #634, August 2003 Film Review #634, August 2003
(Reference #F157)

Features:
Tomb Raider 2: As Lara Croft prepares to bound back into cinemas, actress Angelina Jolie explains exactly what it takes to play the action woman.
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: This acclaimed comic-book adaptation is set to be huge.. League member Tom Sawyer, aka actor Shane West, tells us why he had to be a part of it.
Pirates of the Caribbean: We persuade Johnny Depp to come ashore with a yo-ho-ho and a bottle of rum…
Respiro: Valeria Golino reveals why she had such fun playing a free-spirited Sicilian woman.
Sinbad: Brad Pitt on why he was desperate to be the voice of the legendary sailor in DreamWork’s newest animation.
Movie Spotlight: Legally Blonde 2: After her success in Legally Blonde, Reese Witherspoon reveals why she’s so happy to still be pretty in pink.
Cannes 2003: We bring you our annual report on the most important films, people and awards.
Bob Hope’s Centenary: As the legendary actor celebrates his 100th birthday, we take a look at his movie career.
Gregory Peck Tribute: With Peck’s death the industry lost one of its greatest leading men. We pay tribute.
Reviews:
Over 25 brand new releases , including Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle and Terminator 3: The Rise of the Machines and 9 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #633, July 2003 Film Review #633, July 2003
(Reference #F156)

Features:
Matrix: Reloaded: LA Premičre: Everyone who’s anyone was there, and we’ve got the pictures to prove it!
Playing Cards: Remember when the US army was hunting down important members of the Iraqi regime? What would happen if they went to Hollywood?
Nicholas Nickleby: We talk to Nicholas himself, Charlie Humman, about what it was like to work alongside some of the biggest British stars in the biz.
Hulk: With the movie set to smash his way to box-office success, star Nick Nolte tells us how it feels to play a comic-book villain on the big screen.
The In-Laws: Albert Brooks and Michael Douglas team up in this buddy movie, and the old friends reveal what it was like to work together.
Movie Spotlight: T3: The Rise of the Machines: We talk to Arnie about the role he made his own almost two decades ago.
Bruce Almighty: Jim Carrey is God. While that might explain a few things, it’s not actually true in real life, but it is in his new comedy.
2 Fast 2 Furious: This speedy sequel is racing onto our screens and its star Paul Walker talks to us about fast cars, hot chicks.
Best Seat in the House:Why Nicole Kidman is the best thing in the world ever!
Reviews:
Over 25 brand new releases , including Wrong Turn and Dumb and Dumberer – When Harry Met Lloyd and 9 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #632, Summer 2003 Film Review #632, Summer 2003
(Reference #F155)
Features:
Charlie’s Angels 2: We discover from star and producer Drew Barrymore how she maintains control of a film series that’s made her a Hollywood power-broker.
Movie Spotlight: The Matrix Reloaded: Keanu Reeves, Carrie-Anne Moss and Laurence Fishburne reveal what the Matrix films mean to them.
John Cusack: The actor takes time out of his busy schedule to discuss his starring roles in the thriller Identity and the controversial drama Max.
Anger Management: Adam Sandler talks about this rage-fuelled comedy in which he co-stars with Jack Nicholson.
Burning Down the House: Find out all from Steve Martin about his return to what we all know he does best: out-and-out comedy!
Best Seat in the House: With the massive success of Chicago and Moulin Rouge, it seems everyone wants to catch that musical bandwagon – but is it such a good idea?
Reviews:
Over 30 brand new releases , including Ripley’s Game and Igby Goes Down and 12 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #631, June 2003 Film Review #631, June 2003
(Reference #F154)
Features:
Matrix Reloaded: We swallowed the red pill and caught up with the cast and crew, including Keanu Reeves and Carrie-Anne Moss, who gave us a taster of what we can expect!
Olivia Williams: Talking to us about her starring roles in the upcoming films Civil War drama To Kill a King and period adaptation The Heart of Me.
Heartlands: Star Michael Sheen explains why it’s scoring a bull’s-eye with the critics.
Full Frontal: Shot entirely on digital video in just 18 days, director Steven Soderbergh explains why this unofficial follow-up to sex, lies and videotape was such an interesting venture for him.
Movie Spotlight: The 25th Hour: Rachel Stevens reveals why she hopes this isn’t her only movie.
Call Sheet: Ice Cold in Alex: We cast our mind back to this 1958 film about post-war sentiments, foreign relations and a damn good pint of lager.
Best Seat in the House: A look at the work of the BBFC, and its director Robin Duvall explains why their work is more relevant than ever.
Reviews:
30 brand new releases , including X-Men 2 and Ghosts of the Abyss and 9 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #630, May 2003 Film Review #630, May 2003
(Reference #F153)
Features:
X-Men 2: Discover why its stars were terrified the original would flop and what new X-Men are turning up in the sequel.
75th Academy Awards: A massive report on the biggest awards night in the movie calendar! Find out who won what, who wore what and just how Steve Martin was the best presenter in years.
Phone Booth: Joel Schumacher’s back directing the latest bad boy of Hollywood.
Johnny English: Rowan Atkinson on his big-screen comedy about the worst spy in the world!
S Club ‘Seeing Double’: Rachel Stevens reveals why she hopes this isn’t her only movie.
Shanghai Knights: Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson return as the stunt-prone comedy duo who must battle the save the Crown Jewels.
Welcome to Collinwood: Star William H Macy shares the secrets of his success.
How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days: Stars Kate Hudson and Matthew McConaughey spill the beans on filming this romantic comedy with a twist.
Reviews:
25 brand spanking new releases , including Nowhere in Africa, Hope Springs and The 25th Hour and 10 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #629, April 2003 Film Review #629, April 2003
(Reference #F152)
Features:
The Life of David Gale: Star Kevin Spacey reveals why he felt the role of Professor David Gale was so important.
Just Married: Rising star Brittany Murphy on what it feels to play a conventional romantic lead, and how she found love on the set of her latest movie with co-star Ashton Kutcher.
Rules of Attraction: Scriptwriter Roger Avery explains why he felt compelled to write the screenplay.
Movie Spotlight: The Recruit: Colin Farrell. tells us all about his journey from TV’s Ballykissangel to Hollywood.
Maid in Manhattan: Jennifer Lopez reveals why she did not find it too hard to play a hotel chambermaid in her new romantic comedy.
Far from Heaven: Julianne Moore on this touching movie.
100 Years of the Western: 2003 is the centenary year of the Western, and to celebrate we are taking an in-depth look at the entire history and evolution of the genre.
Reviews:
22 brand spanking new releases , including Confessions of a Dangerous Mind and Daredevil and – 9 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #628, March 2003 Film Review #628, March 2003
(Reference #F151)
Features:
Two Weeks Notice: Why it’s taken so long for the king and queen of the romantic comedy Hugh Grant and Sandra Bullock to get together on screen.
Daredevil: Ben Affleck talks about his new role as the latest comic book superhero to appear on the big screen
The Hours: Stars Meryl Streep, Julianne Moore and Nicole Kidman talk about their new film.
The Ring: Star Naomi Watts tells us why it will have us sleeping with the light on…
The Magdalene Sisters: Peter Mullan goes behind the camera with this controversial and harrowing tale about Irish Catholic women incarcerated in brutal convents.
Analyze That: Robert de Niro and Billy Crystal tell us why they came back for this sequel.
Solaris: Why exactly did George Clooney decide to re-make this 30-year-old Russian Sci-Fi epic?
Adaptation: Director Spike Jonze talks about his latest film.
8 Mile: Director Curtis Hanson gives us the low-down.
Reviews:
25 brand spanking new releases , including Final Destination 2, Punch Drunk Love and Jackass: The Movie and – 10 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #627, February 2003 Film Review #627, February 2003
(Reference #F150)
Features:
Leonardo DiCaprio: on Gangs of New York and Catch Me If You Can
Chicago: Stars Richard Gere, Catherine Zeta Jones and Renee Zellwegger about their unique on-set experiences
The Good Girl: Jennifer Aniston's highly praised new film is a million miles away from Friends
Movie Spotlight: 8 Mile: Eminem talks about his new autobiographical film, and director Curtis Hanson shares his experiences of working with the renegade rapper
About Schmidt: Jack Nicholson tells us all about his newest role as cranky pensioner Walter Schmidt, and why it was a part he loved to play
Spider: Ralph Fiennes on working with David Cronenberg, and why he felt this role of psychiatric patient was one he had to take
Narc: Ray Liotta on his new role in this gritty cop tale, where the line between the good and bad guys is almost non-existent
Irrevérsible: Star Monica Bellucci chats about her shocking new film
Reviews:
25 brand spanking new releases , including The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, The Banger Sisters and The Transporter and – 10 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95

Film Review #626, January 2003 Film Review #626, January 2003
(Reference #F149)
Features:
Star Trek: Nemesis: We shift up to warp speed to catch up with Captain Picard (aka Patrick Stewart) and director Stuart Baird.
2003 Preview: We look into our crystal ball and bring you our preview of the big movies for 2003, starting with Gangs of New York, Daredevil, the X-Men sequel, X-2 and many more!
Sweet Home Alabama: Stars, Reese Witherspoon and Josh Lucas, of this quirk new comedy about Southern hospitality, small-town values and big city ideas.
Movie Spotlight: Die Another Day: Bond celebrates his 40th birthday in his usual smooth style.
Call Sheet: The Lion King: We take a look back a the pride of Disney
Reviews:
14 brand spanking new releases , including Dirty Pretty Things, Chicago and 11/09/01 – September 11 and – 12 pages reviewing the latest cable and satellite films showing in homes, plus videos, books, CDs, DVDs…
Go to Web edition

Price:  $7.95
VI DIRECT Catalog : Film Review : Film Review 2003

Up a level
Up a level
Catalog
Catalog
Information
Information
Search
Search
Send Mail
Send Mail


Visual Imagination - publishers of film, television and Science Fiction magazines